For the most up-to-date information on the Coronavirus please click here.

Danvers Affordable Housing Trust


Aaron Henry
Director of Land Use & Community Services

(978) 777-0001 x. 3029
Danvers Town Hall
1 Sylvan Street
Danvers, MA 01923
Monday - Wednesday 8 am -4 pm
Thursday 8 am - 7:00 pm
Friday 8 am - 12:00 pm

At the 2011 Annual Town Meeting Danvers voted to create the Danvers Affordable Housing Trust (DAHT).

DAHT provided financial assistance for the construction of a duplex on Mill Street and a single family home on Coolidge Road by Habitat for Humanity North Shore, a two family development on Cherry Street which is owned by the Danvers Housing Authority, and a ninety unit affordable housing development on Conifer Drive through the Town’s HOME funds.  The Trust also assisted two first-time homebuyers through the HOME program to purchase homes in Danvers.  The Trust has attended both Planning Board and Zoning Board of Appeals meetings when there has been an opportunity to increase our affordable housing.  Working with the Planning Board and Zoning Board of Appeals has resulted in affordable housing opportunities on Venice Street and Holten Street.  We are also working with, and supportive of, the Planning Board’s efforts to create housing opportunities within our downtown area through changes in the town’s zoning.  Recognizing the difficulty that many have with the rental rates in Danvers, the Trust is partnering with the Danvers Community Council by providing funding for rental assistance.

The Housing Production (HPP) plan was approved by the Department of Housing and Community Development in 2014 and the Trust is now involved with the implementation of the approved plan.  The HPP provides the Trust with a plan for how we can continue to create affordable housing opportunities within the community.

The Trust generally meets on the third Wednesday of each month at 7 p.m. at Town Hall.  DAHT meetings are open to the public and all are welcome to attend these meetings.  

Trust Members: Gardner Trask (Chairman/Board of Selectmen Liason), Carla King (Vice-Chairman), Donald Gates (Treasurer), Christine Tipert (Clerk), John Alden, Maureen Bernard, Stacey Bernson, Anne Casale-Skinner, and John "Jack" Clesinski.

For additional information about services available to Danvers Residents please contact the North Shore Community Action Program.

Close window