For the most up-to-date information on the Coronavirus please click here.

Town offices will be open by appointment only until further notice.  To make an appointment, please call 978-777-0001.


River Committee


Christopher T. Sanborn
Director of Natural Resources Harbormaster

Town Hall
1 Sylvan Street
Danvers, MA 01923
Monday - Wednesday 8 am -4 pm
Thursday 8 am - 7:00 pm
Friday 8 am - 12:00 pm

The River Committee serves as an advisory committee to the Harbormaster and the Department of Planning & Human Services on the matters affecting Danvers Harbor. The Committee meets monthly.

Recognizing that the Danvers Waterfront is a valuable, irreplaceable resource that is integral to the quality of life of the inhabitants of the Town, the River Committee’s primary objective is to protect, preserve, enhance the river.  It further seeks to:

  • Recommend improvements and management objectives for the Town owned waterfront facilities and bridges, including but not limited to waterway fees and collection;
  • Serve as an advocacy group for the improvement of the Town’s water related recreational uses and pursuits and work with Town boards to satisfy this objective;
  • Raise public awareness of the value of protecting and preserving the river.

River Committee Members:   Daniel DeLorenzo (Chair), Matthew Byrne, Bill Fouhey, Joan George, Louis George,  Robert Hemeon, Joseph Marabito,  Robert Moore,  Bill Nicholson, Tom Perry, Gardner Trask (Selectmen Liaison) and Christopher Sanborn, Harbormaster (Ex Officio).

Close window