For the most up-to-date information on the Coronavirus please click here.

For assistance with vaccination registration and questions, please call 2-1-1 (available 24/7)  or 978-777-0001 (press 1 FOR COVID and 1 again for call center & available M, Th & F 9 AM - 1PM)

Town offices will be open by appointment only until further notice.  To make an appointment, please call 978-777-0001.

When is Veterans Day Observed?

When November 11 falls on a weekday, Government Offices and Public Schools are closed on the true Veterans Day.  If the 11th falls on a Saturday, Government Offices and Public Schools may be closed the preceding Friday.  The years that November 11th falls on a Sunday, Government Offices and Public Schools are almost always closed the following Monday in observance of Veterans Day. Private schools and businesses may choose whether to follow the local municipal calendar for observed holidays.

Regardless of the local practice for school and workplace closures for Veterans Day, the Danvers Veterans Office almost always conducts its Ceremony to Honor Veterans on November 11, each year, as do the majority of Veterans’ Services Offices, and other Veterans organizations in the surrounding cities and towns.

On October 7, 2016, President Obama signed the Veterans Day Moment of Silence Act. The new law requires that the President issue a proclamation calling on the people of the United States to observe a two-minute national moment of silence on Veterans Day at 3:11 p.m. Atlantic standard time, 2:11 p.m. eastern standard time, 1:11 p.m. central standard time, 12:11 p.m. mountain standard time, 11:11 a.m. Pacific standard time, 10:11 a.m. Alaska standard time, and 9:11 a.m. Hawaii-Aleutian standard time.

Read about how Americans fought to restore Veterans Day to November 11

Close window