Smoke Detector and Carbon Monoxide Inspections (*see COVID-19 Updates)
Current COVID-19 Requirements for Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Detector Inspections
The Governor signed an executive order (3/20/20) affecting the temporary deferral of smoke and CO inspections required by M.G.L. Chapter 148 Section 26F and 26F 1⁄2
During the state of emergency, any inspection of a dwelling, building, or structure that is required by Sections 26F and 26F1/2 of Chapter 148 of the General Laws may be deferred as a condition of a sale or transfer of said dwelling, building or structure. Such inspection may only be deferred, however, provided that:
(a) the parties to the sale or transfer have agreed in writing that the buyer, not the seller, shall be responsible for equipping the dwelling, building, or structure with approved smoke detectors and carbon monoxide alarms;
(b) the buyer agrees as a condition of taking title to equip the dwelling, building, or structure with approved smoke detectors and carbon monoxide alarms immediately upon taking title according to the provisions of 527 CMR 1.00, Chapter 13; and
(c) any inspection that would otherwise be required by Sections 26F and 26FY2 of Chapter 148 of the General Laws is conducted no more than 90 days after the state of emergency is terminated; and provided further that the head of the fire department for the municipality in which the dwelling, building, or structure is located shall ensure that such inspection is conducted within the required period pursuant to the authority granted by Sections 26E, 26F, and 26FY2 of Chapter 148.
This Order is effective immediately and shall apply to any sale or transfer that occurs while the Order is in effect. This Order shall remain in effect until rescinded or until the state of emergency is terminated, which ever happens first. Any such rescission or termination shall not invalidate any inspection deferral that was agreed to pursuant to the terms of this Order during the period in which this Order was in effect.
The Fire Prevention Association of Massachusetts [FPAM], has partnered with the Massachusetts Association of Realtors [MAR], to develop a contract addendum for Smoke and CO alarm inspections [26F 1/2] that must be submitted to the Danvers Fire Dept. within 72 hours after the agreement has been signed. For your convenience, we have attached a copy of the addendum below.
Please submit completed addendum forms to the Department email at [email protected] . After we receive the forms, and Governor Baker’s Executive Order is lifted, you will be contacted by the Danvers Fire Department to schedule your compliance inspection and submit payment. If you have any questions, please contact our Fire Prevention Officer, Capt. P. James Brooks Jr. at 978-774-3917
We apologize for this inconvenience and apologize for the continued changes to our policies. As we all know, this is an ever-changing situation.
Use this link to download approved form Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Detector Inspection Addendum
Select HERE to go to online payments
To schedule your residential home for a smoke/carbon monoxide detector inspection please call Danvers Fire Headquarters at 978-762-0245.
The Danvers Fire Department conducts residential smoke/carbon monoxide detector inspections Monday through Friday, between the hour of 3:30 to 4:30. All detectors must be tested prior to the fire departments inspection. Upon testing and approving the locations of the detectors a Certificate of Compliance will be issued by the inspecting fire official. The cost of this inspection is $50.00 per unit. Please read below if you have any questions regarding the locations or types of detectors required in your home.
The State law requires operating smoke alarms and carbon monoxide alarms on every habitable level, including finished portions of basements and attics. On December 1, 2016, the code has changed with regard to the type of alarms required. Please call the Fire Prevention Office is you have any questions regarding your inspection.
- First Floor – An approved smoke alarm shall be installed on the ceiling of each stairway leading to the floor above, near the base of, but not within each stairwell. A smoke alarm should also be placed outside the bedroom door.
- Second Floor – An approved smoke alarm shall be installed on the ceiling in the hallway outside the bedrooms.
- Basement – An approved smoke alarm shall be installed on the ceiling of the basement stairway leading to the floor above, near the base of, but not within the stairwell. If the ceiling is unfinished, place the alarm on the edge of the joist (not in the bay between the ceiling/floor joists).
- General Information – Ceilings that are vaulted or sloped, the alarm shall be placed on the higher side. Peaked ceilings shall have the alarm located within three feet of the peak and tray ceilings shall have the alarm placed within the tray. Remember, heat and smoke rise and will travel to these places first. With approved smoke alarms installed in the proper locations; early warning it will give you the best chance of survival in a fire, see diagram below.
- Test each smoke alarm in your home prior to your scheduled inspection, if any one of the alarms is not functioning properly you will not be issued a Certificate of Compliance. A fresh battery should be placed in each alarm and marked with a date. Hardwired smoke alarms (in newer homes) need to be tested for proper operation. Hardwired smoke alarms are interconnected and should activate all the other hardwired smoke alarms in the home.
- A number must be on the house/building at the time of inspection. Your permit/certificate cannot be issued unless the number is present, as required by MGL Chapter 148, Section 59.
- Battery operated smoke alarms may not replace hardwired smoke alarms.
- Interconnected, hardwired smoke alarms must all sound when any alarm is tested.
- If you have any questions regarding your smoke or carbon monoxide alarms, please call the Fire Prevention Office before your inspection appointment.