For the most up-to-date information on the Coronavirus please click here.

FAQ Topic: Assessing

How is my motor vehicle bill determined?

Bill Computation: An excise at the rate of $25 per one thousand dollars of valuation (effective 1/1/81) is levied on each motor vehicle. Information on the value of a motor vehicle is accessed electronically by the Registry of Motor Vehicles though a data bank complete with valuation figures. Valuation figures are the manufacturers’ list prices … Continued

I no longer reside in Danvers. Do I still have to pay this bill?

You must pay motor vehicle excise to the city or town you resided in on January 1st.  Residency is based on the Registry of Motor Vehicles registration records as of January 1st.  You are not entitled to an abatement if your move to another Massachusetts city or town during the calendar year. If you move … Continued

I no longer own this vehicle. Do I still have to pay the bill?

State Law requires you to pay your excise tax bill then file an abatement at a later time to avoid late fees, penalties and interest.  If you no longer own the vehicle and the registration was cancelled or transferred to another vehicle, you may file for an abatement.  If the vehicle was sold, traded-in, donated, … Continued

What is Proposition 2 1/2?

One of the most misunderstood concepts of municipal taxation is the meaning of Proposition 2 ½.  This legislative initiative was enacted in 1980 to limit the increases of property taxes in Massachusetts.  Proposition 2 ½ has performed its tax limiting function since then in the following manner. 1)      A community cannot raise more than 2 ½ … Continued

How is the value of my home determined?

Determining Values Assessors are required to determine values in accordance with Mass Appraisal Methods.  A market analysis is conducted each year using property sales data from the 12-24 months prior to the assessment date for the given fiscal year.  It is important to note that the Assessors must value property as of the January 1st which … Continued

What is an Abatement?

Explanation of Abatement: Reduction in Taxes An abatement is a reduction is the tax assessed on your property for the fiscal year.  You may apply for an abatement if you believe your property is: Overvalued, Disproportionately Assessed, Classified Incorrectly or Partially or Fully Exempt. If a taxpayer does not agree with the assessed valuation of … Continued

How is my Boat Valued?

State Guidelines Length of Vessel Valuations of Vessels   under 4 yrs/age 4-6 yrs/age 7 or more yrs/age under 16′ $ 1,000 $  700 $  400 16′ but less than 17.5′ $ 1,500 $ 1,000 $  800 17.5′ but less than 20′ $ 3,000 $ 2,000 $ 1,500 20′ but less than 22.5′ $ 5,000 … Continued

How do I request a municipal lien certificate?

You may obtain a municipal lien certificate (MLC) by visiting the Office of the Treasurer/ Tax Collector during normal business hours or by mailing your request (see attached request form) along with the $50 fee and a self-addressed stamped envelope to “Treasurer/Tax Collector”, Danvers Town Hall, 1 Sylvan Street, Danvers, MA 01923. Municipal Lien Certificate Request … Continued

How do I pay my personal property taxes?

You can pay taxes in person by visiting the Treasurer’s office on the first floor of Town Hall; by mailing payment to the Treasurer’s Office, 1 Sylvan Street, Danvers, MA 01923 or online.

Close window